艺术 展览

《叠影重重》雨果特谢拉全新摄影展

氹仔城区文化协会独家呈献葡美裔摄影艺术家雨果特谢拉(Hugo Teixeira)全新摄影展《叠影重重》,这是雨果特谢拉第二次于凼仔旧城区艺术空间举办个人展。

特谢拉透过是次展览,试图把其家人在70年代从葡萄牙移民到加州后失去的历史和文化意识重新拼凑。他的图像创作呈现了他在加州丛林和葡萄牙蒙塔多旅行时精心摄制的风景照片重叠在一起对照。这样一来,现在和过去就成为了互相诠释的镜头。

 

策展人序言

艺术家雨果特谢拉的《叠影重重》试图把其家人在70年代从葡萄牙移民到加州后失去的历史和文化意识重新拼凑。与特谢拉一样,移民者的子女往往背负驾驭两种文化的期望,却没有父母的记忆和在祖国出生成长的联系,也没有太多适应新国家和文化的指导。他们反而时常透过故事、媒体、旅行以及基本的反复试验,把有关两种文化的知识拼凑在一起。

为了反映这现象,特谢拉透过发现一个匿名家庭摄于革命前葡萄牙的一批照片,回想起自己家庭故事的人物和背景,并不自觉地唤起了对过去的回忆(马塞尔·普鲁斯特的非自主记忆)。他把这些照片与他在加州丛林和葡萄牙蒙塔多旅行时精心摄制的风景照片重叠在一起对照。这样一来,现在和过去就成为了互相诠释的镜头。

特谢拉使用蒙太奇手法把照片融合,使人联想到19世纪的风景摄影师。他们结合了互不相关的陆地和天空照片,创造出单次曝光无法实现的和谐构图。是次展览展示的图像是从数以千计的构图中提炼出来的几个令人回味的例子。此技术反映了在没有太多指导下学习驾驭两种文化的反复试验,但最终透过学习融合两者而找到在家的感觉。

João Ó

 

关于艺术家
雨果特谢拉

「现在和过去是互相诠释的镜头。」  雨果特谢拉

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

雨果特谢拉成长于加州圣荷西的葡美裔社区。主修语言的他, 曾经于圣荷西大学和里斯本的影像与通讯技术学校修读摄影, 并于2020毕业于罗切斯特理工大学摄影及相关媒体硕士课程。他透过摄影、常用物料,先进的技术和记忆来创造当代概念图像和雕塑。作为一位艺术家和老师,特谢拉的作品曾在美国,葡萄牙和澳门展出。

 

 

主办

 

 

 

赞助

 

 

 

 

艺术顾问

 

 

 

  • 营业时间

    12 pm – 8 pm

  • 位置

    氹仔旧城区 艺术空间, 澳门氹仔木铎街10 号

    电话

    +853 2857 6118
立即订阅,切勿错过
我们最新的优惠

art Exhibition

Involuntary Landscapes – New Photography Works by Hugo Teixeira

Taipa Village Cultural Association exclusively showcases a unique photography exhibition entitled “Involuntary Landscapes”, presented by Luso-American photographic artist Hugo Teixeira who hosts his second show at Taipa Village Art Space.

The exhibition interprets Teixeira’s attempts to piece together a historical and cultural consciousness lost when his family emigrated from Portugal and settled in California in the 70’s. The artistic collection reflects the result of a number of crafted landscape photos from his travels in the California chaparral and the Portuguese montado. In doing so, the present and past serve as lenses through which the other is interpreted.

 

Curator’s Statement

Involuntary Landscapes interprets artist Hugo Teixeira’s attempts to piece together a historical and cultural consciousness lost when his family emigrated from Portugal and settled in California in the 70’s. Like the artist, the children of migrants are often expected to function in two cultures without their parents’ memories and birth connection to their home countries and without much guidance in adapting to a new country and culture. Instead, they often piece together knowledge about both cultures from stories, media, travel and by basic trial and error.

Reflecting this phenomenon, the found photos of an anonymous family in pre-revolutionary Portugal recall the characters and settings of his own family’s stories and evoke recollections of the past without conscious effort (Marcel Proust’s involuntary memories). He juxtaposes these with deliberately crafted landscape photos from his travels in the California chaparral and the Portuguese montado. In so doing, the present and past serve as lenses through which the other is interpreted.

Teixeira fuses the photographs using a montage process reminiscent of 19th century landscape photographers who combined unrelated photos of land and sky to create harmonious compositions not achievable in a single exposure. The images presented in this exhibition distill thousands of compositions to just a few evocative examples. The technique reflects the trials and errors of learning to navigate two cultures without much guidance, but ultimately learning to feel at home in a blend of both.

João Ó

 

 

About artist

Hugo Teixeira

“The present and past are lenses through which the other is interpreted.” Hugo Teixeira

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hugo Teixeira grew up in the Luso-American community in San Jose, California. A linguist by training, he studied photography at San Jose State University and Lisbon’s Escola Técnica de Imagem e Comunicação, graduating from the MFA in the Photography and Related Media programme at the Rochester Institute of Technology in 2020. His artwork relies on photography, common materials, advanced technical skillsets and memory to create contemporary conceptual images and sculptures. As an artist and teacher, Teixeira has exhibited work in the United States, Portugal, and the Macau Special Administrative Region of China.

 

Organiser

 

 

 

Sponsor

 

 

 

 

Art Consultant

  • Opening Hours

    12 pm – 8 pm

  • Location

    Taipa Village Art Space, No 10, Rua dos Clerigos, Taipa

    Phone

    +853 2857 6118
Sign up now to receive
our latest news and offers