活動 節日盛事

遊歷 – 安德烈•卡里略的孔版油印

作為2022年壓軸展覽,氹仔城區文化協會邀請了享譽國際的葡萄牙插畫家安德烈•卡里略 (André Carrilho) 展示他獨特的個人作品,呈現他藝術努力之成果。卡里略的速寫繪本大多是在旅行期間而產生的,從描繪葡萄牙的多個偏遠地區,到紐約、倫敦、巴黎等大都市,甚至澳門和香港等多個地方。

速寫繪本上的這些寫意水彩畫通常只用兩到三種重疊的顏色構成,描繪出背景和前景之間的高對比度,給人一種強烈的印象和地方感。他的速寫繪本由出版商 Abysmo 出版了兩個版本——分別是2014 年的“Inercia” (慣性) 和 2018 年的”Atrito”(摩擦) 。

在是次展覽中,卡里略將他的速寫繪本中的技巧與孔版油印 (Risograph) 互相結合。孔版打印機於1980 年在日本發行,在近十年被當代插畫家和藝術家所採用, 他們利用這種可重複性來產生獨特的視覺效果。

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

在三十年的職業生涯中,安德烈·卡里略 (André Carrilho) 在插圖、社論漫畫、動畫和漫畫領域獲得了 100 多個獎項和榮譽,並在葡萄牙、西班牙、巴西、法國、捷克共和國、中國和美國舉行展覽。他的作品被刊登於一系列報紙和雜誌上,包括《紐約時報》、《紐約客》、《浮華世界》、《紐約雜誌》、《週日獨立報》、《新蘇黎世報週日版》、《哈潑雜誌》、《新聞日報》和《新政治家》。

2002 年,他獲得了美國新聞媒體視覺設計協會頒發插畫家作品集金獎,這是世界上最享負盛名的插畫獎之一。 2015 年,他的一部關於伊波拉疫情的漫畫被全球瘋傳起來,贏得了世界新聞漫畫大獎。同年,他受邀創作一幅漫畫壁畫, 為雜誌《浮華世界》年度奧斯卡派對作點綴。

2020 年,他為圖書 “A Menina com os Olhos Ocupados” (The Girl with the Occupied Eyes) 編寫及繪畫插圖, 其後獲得了插畫家協會頒發金獎。

 

策展人序言

安德烈•卡里略 (André Carrilho)可算是近代最著名的葡萄牙插畫家。他的漫畫於眾多國內與國際報紙和雜誌上刊登, 包括《紐約時報》、《紐約客》、《浮華世界》、《紐約雜誌》、《週日獨立報》、《新蘇黎世報週日版》、《哈潑雜誌》、《新聞日報》和《新政治家》。他亦在圖畫書、多媒體動畫和旅行速寫繪本方面獲得重大成功。

在這次展覽中,卡里略從他的旅行寫生中挑選了二十幅圖像,它們分別選自兩本由Abysmo出版的繪本 —– 2014年的 “Inercia” (慣性) 和2018年的 “Atrito” (摩擦) ,並利用孔版油印技術把這些圖像複製到美術版畫中。複製過程需要把水彩畫原作上檢測到的不同顏色正確地分離,然後把檢測到的每一層顏色疊加起來而製成孔版油印成品。列印疊加中的每層圖像時不免會出錯,反而使每幅版畫因其不完美而變得獨一無二!這就是孔版油印的美妙之處。

卡里略的水彩畫是他在一連串密集的個人旅行與出差期間,身處每個地方而手繪出來的,地點遍及澳門、香港、紐約、巴黎、倫敦,而葡萄牙境內則包括波爾圖、維塞烏、奧比多斯和杜羅國際自然公園。抽空坐一個小時來吸收每個地方的靈氣,並以藝術形式捕捉其神髓,的確是一份對每個地方的欣賞,從中感受時間的靜止。每個地方都是藝術家個人成長旅程的一部分,透過著色圖像反映出來。

 

João Ó

 

 

 

 主辦

 

 

 

贊助

 

 

 

 

藝術顧問

 

 

 

  • 營業時間

    12 pm – 6 pm (逢星期一休息)

  • 位置

    氹仔舊城區生活空間, 氹仔告利雅施利華街53號瑞昌大廈地下A座

    電話

    +853 2857 6212
立即訂閱,切勿錯過
我們最新的優惠與資訊

events Events & Festivals

TRAVELS – Risographs by André Carrilho

To conclude the year, Taipa Village Cultural Association has specially invited internationally acclaimed Portuguese illustrator André Carrilho to showcase his personal works and artistic             endeavours. Carrilho’s sketchbooks are filled mostly during his travels, offering a diversity of depictions of remote regions in Portugal, metropolises such as New York, London and Paris, and even Macau and Hong Kong, to name a few.

Carrilho’s freehand watercolour drawings typically employ only two or three overlapped colours,  creating a high degree of contrast between their backgrounds and foregrounds and making them impactful with a strong sense of place. His sketchbook drawings have been published in two editions – “Inercia” (Inertia) in 2014 and “Atrito” (Friction) in 2018 – by publisher Abysmo.

In this exhibition, Carrilho blends techniques from his sketchbook drawings with Risograph photocopying and printing. The use of Risograph printers, whose manufacture dates back to             Japan in 1980, has been increasingly adopted in the past decade by contemporary illustrators and artists who utilise the process’s reproducibility to create distinctive visual effects.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In a career spanning 30 years, André Carrilho has won more than 100 awards and honours for illustration, editorial cartoons, animation and caricature, and has shown his work in group and solo exhibitions in Portugal, Spain, Brazil, France, the Czech Republic, China and the United States.  His work has been published in large number of newspapers and magazines, including the New York Times, The New Yorker, Vanity Fair, New York Magazine, the Independent on Sunday, NZZ am Sonntag, Harper’s Magazine, Diário de Notícias and the New Statesman.

In 2002 he was awarded the Gold Award for Illustrator’s Portfolio by the Society for News Design (US), one of the world’s most prestigious illustration awards. In 2015, one of his cartoons on the Ebola epidemic garnered worldwide acclaim, winning the Grand Prize at the World Press Cartoon awards. The same year, he was invited to create a caricature mural to decorate the famous annual Vanity Fair Oscar Party.

In 2020 he wrote and illustrated the picture book “A Menina com os Olhos Ocupados” (The Girl with the Occupied Eyes), which won a Gold Medal from the Society of Illustrators.

 

Curator’s Statement

André Carrilho is probably the most renowned Portuguese illustrator of the new generation. He is known for his prolific cartoons published in national and international newspapers and magazines, including the New York Times, The New Yorker, Vanity Fair, New York Magazine, Independent on Sunday, NZZ am Sonntag, Harper’s Magazine, Diário de Notícias and New Statesman. He has also ventured with enormous success into picture books, multimedia animation and travelling sketchbooks.

For this exhibition, Carrilho selected twenty images from his travel sketchbooks “Inercia” (Inertia) and “Atrito” (Friction), both published by Abysmo in 2014 and 2018, and replicated them using the technique of risograph printing to create fine art prints. The process of replication requires the correct separation of the different colors employed in the original watercolor artwork and the final risograph print superimposes all the layers of colors detected. Certain registration errors occur when printing each image making each print unique through its imperfection! Here lies the beauty of the risograph.

Carrilho’s watercolors were hand-painted on location during a period of intense travels for both leisure and work, which included Macau, Hong Kong, New York, Paris and London. Within Portugal, there is the depiction of Porto, Viseu, Óbidos and the International Douro Park. Finding time to sit for an hour or so to absorb a place and capture it in the form of an artwork is indeed a passionate dedication to the place where time is made to stand still. Each of these places is in fact part of the artist’s personal journey and growth refracted in a mosaic of tinted images.

 

João Ó

 

 

Organiser

 

 

 

Sponsor

 

 

 

 

Art Consultant 

 

  • Opening Hours

    12 pm – 6 pm (Closed on Mondays)

  • Location

    Taipa Village Living Space, Rua Correia Da Silva No. 53, Soi Cheong Rés-do-chão A, Taipa

    Phone

    +853 2857 6212
Sign up now to receive
our latest news and offers